GOVERNMENT OF MEGHALAYA SOCIAL WELFARE DEPARTMENT

ORDERS BY THE GOVERNOR

NOTIFICATION

Dated Shillong, the 27th April, 2011

No.SW(S)27/2001/756- In exercise of the powers conferred by Section 4 of the Juvenile Justice (Care & Protection of Children) Amendment Act, 2006 the Governor of Meghalaya is pleased to reconstitute the Juvenile Justice Boards for the 7(seven) Districts with the following members.

East Khasi Hills District, Shillong

- 1. a) The Senior most First Class Judicial Magistrate in Principal Magistrate the Headquarter
 - b) Miss Daisily Thangkhiew,

 Lawyer and Member of the Meghalaya State Legal

 Forum, Shillong.

 Member
 - c) Smti. Lungsimon Lyngdoh,
 Retd. Asstt. Director of Social Welfare,
 Rynjah, Shillong.

West Khasi Hills District, Nongstoin

- a) The Senior most First Class Judicial Magistrate in Principal Magistrate the Headquarter.
 - b) Sr. Cecilia Ksoo, Member St. Peter Orphanage, Pyndengrei, Nongstoin.
 - c) Smti B.Hoojon, Member President, Seng Longkmie, Mawiong Lum Syntiew, Nongstoin.

Jaintia Hills District, Jowai

- 3. a) The Senior most First Class Judicial Magistrate in Principal Magistrate the Headquarter.
 - b) Sr. Patricia Nongkhlaw, Member St. Mary's Mazzarelo Girls Orphanage, Jowai.
 - c) Smti. Chirup Passah,
 Presbyterian Women Social Welfare Organisation,
 Jowai.

 Member

Ri Bhoi District, Nongpoh

- a) The Senior most First Class Judicial Magistrate in Principal Magistrate the Headquarter
 - b) Sr. Happyline Shadap,

 Mazzarelo Orphanage Home, Mawtnum.

 Member
 - c) Smti. Meristella Lamare, Member NAWWA, Nongpoh.

West Garo Hills District, Tura

- 5. a) The Senior most First Class Judicial Magistrate in Principal Magistrate the Headquarter.
 - b) Shri Webstar A.Momin, President, Akimbri Social Club, Upper Chandmari, Tura.

- Member

c) Smti. Phoebe W.Ingty,Dobaki Creche,Hawakhana, Tura.

- Member

East Garo Hills District, Williamnagar

- 6. a) The Senior most First Class Judicial Magistrate in Principal Magistrate the Headquarter.
 - b) Smti. L.W.Momin, Member President, Mother's Federation, Williamnagar.
 - c) Fr. Thomas John,
 Secretary, Sacred Heart Mission Home,
 Williamnagar.

South Garo Hills District, Baghmara

- 7. a) The Senior most First Class Judicial Magistrate in Principal Magistrate the Headquarter.
 - b) Fr. Thomas P.T.,
 Fatima Rani Mission Home,
 Baghmara.
 - c) Sr. Nirmala Kujur, Morningstar Girls Home, Baghmara.

- Member

Powers and functions of the Juvenile Justice Board:

- The Board shall function as a bench of Magistrates and shall have the powers conferred by the Code of Criminal Procedure, 1973 on a Metropolitan Magistrate or as the case may be, a Judicial Magistrate of the first class and the Magistrate on the Board shall function as the Principal Magistrate.
- 2. The Board shall have a tenure of three years with effect from 1st May, 2011 and the appointment of the members shall be co-terminus with the tenure of the Board.
- 3. A Social Worker shall be eligible for appointment as a member of the Board for a maximum of two terms.
- 4. The Board shall meet as and when required in any specified Office/Place.
- 5. A Member of the Board may resign anytime by giving one month's notice in writing or may be removed from office as provided under sub section (5) of Section 4 of the Act.

Copy to:-

- 1. The Secretary, Government of India, Ministry of Women & Child Development, Shastri Bhavan New Delhi. 110001
- The P.S. to the Minister, Social Welfare for information of the Minister.
- 3. The P.S to the Chief Secretary for information of the Chief Secretary.
- 4. The Secretary to the Govt. of Meghalaya (Law-B) Department with reference to your letter No.LL(B)16/2001/140 dated 9.1.2008 for information.
- 5. The Commissioners of Divisions Khasi Hills, Jaintia Hills, Ri-Bhoi Districts and Garo Hills, for information.

The Director of Social Welfare, Meghalaya, Shillong.

- 7. The Director of Printing & Stationery, Meghalaya, Shillong for publication in the Meghalaya Gazette.
- 8. The Deputy Commissioners East Khasi Hills District, Shillong/ West Khasi Hills District, Nongstoin/ Ri-Bhoi District, Nongpoh/ Jaintia Hills District, Jowai/ West Garo Hills District, Tura/ East Garo Hills District, Williamnagar/ South Garo Hills District, Baghmara.
- 9. All members concerned for favour of information and nécessary action.

Deputy Secretary to the Govt. of Meghalaya

Social Welfare Department